top of page
  • Writer's pictureJewel

Monday Musing #1

Hello Again!


I really wanted to upload last week but my throat wasn't feeling great so it didn't happen whoops...


Todays post is about working through rough patches/hard days.


Like I said before, I've been dealing with a back injury since last October. It was really hard to sit out of classes for 3 months, especially missing Nutcracker and not being able to work toward preparing for Summer Intensive/Company auditions.

This is the 5th long term absence I've had from dance (sprained hip=4 months, sprained knee=6 months, mononucleosis=3 months x2), and every time it's harder to find the motivation to come back. Especially with this year being my first year at a real pre-professional school. I was so excited to continue working toward my dreams of having dance as a career.

Add on to that my mental health struggles, winter times, and the still going pandemic, and the last few months have been really hard.

As hard as it seems the best thing to do is just keep pushing. Every day you don't give up is a major accomplishment. Put effort into yourself, your future self will appreciate it. Surround yourself with good, supportive people who will keep you afloat. Huge thanks to my teachers and friends who were so kind and encouraging while I worked through this.


I'm a long way from being back to full strength and abilities, but I'm finally able to go through a class without hating myself and wanted to give up.


Hope this was able to reach someone who needed it <3


Stay Strong, Lovelies! Til next week :)


All the Love. X.

Jewel

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page